Food Tech Seminar 2019

Asianmac is organising the above training course jointly with SHRDF. This is specifically for food manufacturers interested in Food Preservation technology adopted by Taiwan . It includes quick freeze technology for fruits, meat and fish with the technology that minimises the sizes of water crystallization in the meat or fruit ensuring less deterioration and damage when thawing.

The course in conducted in Mandarin by Taiwanese experts and is HRDF claimable.

Interested members please contact and register direct or click HERE.


ERA Ong Eng Long Photo

Slightly more than 25 years ago, the ERA founding Chairman, Dato’ Mohamad Sopiee and his committee had a vision: to create ERA as a platform for senior citizens of Malaysia who are willing to provide mentoring services to whoever wanting them. It is their foresight and dedication that has inspired so many of us to follow their footsteps. The untiring commitment of Tan Sri Dato’ Soong, the founding Honorary Secretary, is the shining example.

Many have followed the call of Tan Sri Dato’ Soong and become members of ERA. They are successful entrepreneurs, CEOs of multinationals and local companies, consultants, professionals, senior government officers etc. Many have retired but some are still actively pursuing their careers. They join ERA with a common objective: to share their expertise and experiences with those in need of assistance, especially those from the SMEs.

During the time of 1991-2001 when Tan Sri Dato’ Soong was the President, ERA enjoyed the utmost admiration from both local and overseas circles. When I took over the baton from Tan Sri Soong in 2002, I thought it would be easy to continue his legacy. Little did I realize that what seems an elementary task turns out to be a momentous one. Lacking the entrepreneurial, managerial, administrative and interpersonal skills and experience of Tan Sri Dato’ Soong, I found the going tough and I fear I may become the inhibiting factor that retards the growth of ERA.

Over the last ten years when I held the helm as President of ERA, there was lacking realization of the noble objectives of ERA. I felt that I lacked the ability to drive the organisation. The strength and greatness of Tan Sri Dato’ Soong was difficult to match, though I had put in my best. Having realised my weakness, I’d voiced my intention to step down as President in the last two elections. Your patience and kindness have given me courage to stay on.

Nevertheless, I am encouraged and extremely proud of the team who has performed extremely well. Team mebers have never failed to come forward to give their support and cooperation. With their untiring commitment and hard work, we have organized successfully two dinner functions to celebrate the 20th and 25th anniversary of ERA. Thanks to them, ERA now has a relatively comfortable cushion in the bank account. Through their efforts, ERA did spread its wings to the shores of Myanmar, Cambodia, Uganda, Nigeria and Kenya. They have done tremendously well to keep members connected through emails, blogs, newsletters etc.

It has been my privilege to serve as the President of ERA for the last ten years. For me, it has been a wonderful and rewarding as well as a morale-boosting experience. I have the lovely memories of making new friends and sharing the wonderful times together and my humble realization of my limitations. Appreciatingly, I thank all of you for having given me this opportunity.

I am writing this column for the last time as the President of ERA. I shall not be seeking re-election when my term ends on 30th June 2012. I am most grateful to all the committee members who have been with me during the last ten years, especially our extraordinary IPP and Advisor, Tan Sri Dato’ Soong, the Vice President Dato’ Wong Pui Lam, the Honourary Secretary Mr. Soo Cheong Futt and the Honourary Treasurer Mr. Tai Chin Peow.

To the new President of ERA and the new committee, I wish you every success. Obviously, there is much work that remains to be done. I would like to suggest that you consider the following two items, which I have included in my list of “things to do”. Firstly, make full use of the MoUs that we have signed with other organizations. Collaborate with Technological Association of Malaysia (TAM), the Malaysian Association of Creativity & Innovation (MACRI), Myanmar Industries Association (MIA), Nigerian Chambers of Commerce and the Associated Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry (ACCCIM) to fulfil our goals. Secondly, identify ERA with the Ministry of Human Resources so that we can bring benefits to our members.

Thank you for the opportunity for me to serve the association that deserves to grow and prosper. I strongly believe that under the new leadership, ERA will grow and prosper.


Dato Dr Ong Eng Long

2018 ERA AGM on 9th June 2018

2018 ERA AGM on 9th June 2018

The ERA 2018 27th AGM was held on 9th June 2018 at the Damansara Jaya Resiednts & Owners Association (DJROA). A total of 51 members attended the AGM.

Before the AGM began, Mr. Francis Tan, an ERA member gave a one hour talk on `How to be harmony in yourself’ and `How to overcome depression’.

The outgoing President, Datin Paduka Yong Dai Ying called the meeting to order at 1.10pm and welcomed all present, in particular the ERA Advisor, Tan Sri Dato’ Soong Siew Hoong and Immediate Past President, Dato’ Dr. Ong Eng Long.

Mr. Soo Cheong Futt was the Election Chairman. The new office bearers elected for 2018-2021 trem are as follows :




•        President Mr. Lye Fook Keong (Roger)
•        Vice President Mr. Wong Lian Kee
•        Honorary Secretary Dr. Mooi Wah Kian
•        Honorary Assistant Secretary Ms Foo Seau An (June)
•        Honorary Treasurer Ms Toh Bee Ling
•        Honorary Assistant Treasurer Ms Chew Geok Neo (Pansy)
Committee Members 1. Mr. Cheong Soon Hock (Allen)
2. Mr. Tan Kim Hai
3. Mr. Lee Hock Chye
4. Mr. Yale Wong Yah Loo
5. Mr. Ariffin Buranudeen
6. Mr. Prame Kumar Nair
7. Mr. Tan Yoke Chun (Francis)
Honorary Auditors Mr. Ong Song Howe

Mr. Tan Teik Ching


The existing eight (8) Sub-Committees are maintained and are headed by the new Sub-Committe Heads as below :-

  1. Training, Advisory Consulting (TAC). Leader – Mr Lee Hock Chye
  2. Biomass Business Focus Group. Leader -Mr Tan Kim Hai
  3. Food & Beverages. Leader – Mr. Lam Ah.Chye
  4. Urban Roof-top & Vertical Farming. Leader – Mr Yale Wong
  5. Leisure, Health & Nature. Leader – Mr. Allen Cheong
  6. Factory & Institutional Visit. Leader – Mr Andy Oh
  7. Investment & Business Promotion (IBPC). Leader – Tan Sri Dato’ Soong
  8. Senior Magazine. Leader – Mr Cheah Tuck Wing

As provided under the ERA Constitution, an Advisory Panel was set-up and the following as Advisors are appointed ;-:

  1. Tan Sri Dato’ Soong Siew Hoong
  2. Dato’ Dr Ong Eng Long

The President thanked all the members, in particular Tan Sri Dato’ Soong and Mr Ng Koon Kow for their active involvement in making the AGM a success.

The new President Mr. Roger Lye adjourned the AGM at 2.30pm.